European oak includes two species…

by admin
September 24, 2018
Categories: Wine Gospel

“European oak includes two species, which give different characteristics to wine. These are Quercus robur (pedunculate oak) and Quercus petraea (sessile oak). We’ll refer to them here as ‘robur’ and ‘petraea.’ Here are two important points: First, most European oak forests include a mixture of both. Second, robur generally provides more heft to wine, while petraea gives more elegance. Specifically, petraea generally has higher levels of sweetness from triterpenoid compounds, tighter grains and slower growth, which can boost aromatic concentrations.” 🎉😊

Your Cart
Your cart is empty